top of page
  • dickc35

Principal’s Message:

Principal’s Message:

When I first came to Florida, I was unsure that I’d be able to find a place where I belong. It was difficult immigrating from Manitoba, Canada, not only because I had to leave the Winnipeg Jets behind, but because getting a job in not only a new school but a new country, was something pretty unfamiliar to me. But when I walked through the doors of ADV for the first time, it felt like home. My name is Cindy Dick and I am very honored to be part of Academie da Vinci’s Charter School family.

I am a Canadian born educator with a Bachelor’s in Education and a Master's in Educational Leadership. I joined Academie da Vinci in 2016 as the Technology and French language teacher. In that first year, it became noticeably clear to me, Academie da Vinci is an amazing school for the Arts and Technology. The staff, students and parents are all compassionate, artistic, talented, and supportive.

Previously, I was a dedicated teacher and principal for 23 years in Manitoba, Canada. I take pride in my ability to lead collaboratively, and to build and maintain positive relationships with students, staff, Board, and parents. Encouraging teachers and students to lead is one of my many passions, and I strive to create environments that foster leadership.

In my years at Academie da Vinci, I have been involved in the creation of our Mission, Vision and Core Beliefs along with the entire faculty. We believe in developing our students so that they are prepared for and excited about learning, high achievement, and caring for others in their community. This aligns with my own personal beliefs, and that’s why this school and community has been a perfect fit. It is an absolute joy to come to work every day.

I believe in a student voice. I believe in a strong, positive and collaborative approach to solving problems, along with focus solution discussions while keeping our school mission at the heart of everything we do. Our school community includes our students, faculty, parents/guardians, Board of Directors, and the local Dunedin community as a circle of support, all working together for a common purpose; to instill in our students not only a drive to learn and to achieve, but to care for each other and become trailblazers of empathy and understanding in their community. A place where we all belong. Welcome to our ADV family!

36 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page